Race Blog


Calder Stewart Elite Series Round 2: Timaru

A large number of Pegasus riders made their way down to Pleasant Point in Timaru over the weekend for the second of the 2016 Calder Stewart Elite Series. 

In the men’s race, the main break of the day was established early on, with 10 riders and with Mike Greer, Modus, TotalPOS, PKF, L&M and Central Will Bike all represented.   That left the Joyride team chasing the break.  With just one team chasing, the break’s advantage grew quite quickly before being held at about 5 and a half minutes.  As the pack approached the Cleland Road climb on the second lap, the news came from the commissaires that attacks had begun in the break, and Ben Robertson (Modus), Hefin Price (Mike Greer) and Jordan Gilmore (Central Willbikes) had broken away.  Once the split in the break was established, Mike Greer began thinking about the overall team result and took over the chase from the Joyride team.

The start of the final lap saw a number of hard attacks going off the front of the pack, as the main bunch of the breakaway started to come within range.  On the short, steep climb on Gay’s Pass road, 20kms from the finish, the 7 chasing riders started to get mopped up, leaving just two riders out front. 

Ben Robertson (Modus) attacked to complete a fantastic performance and come in solo, and was followed by Hefin Price of Mike Greer.  When the main pack came to the line, it was Tim Rush of Mike Greer completing the Podium.

When the points were assembled, it was Tim Rush of Mike Greer in the Overall Lead, Ben Johnstone of Mike Greer in the U23 jersey, and Ethan Batt of PKF in the U19 Jersey.


In the Women’s race, the Black Magic women’s team rode an aggressive race and after several moves came and went on the first lap, Amanda Jamieson (Black Magic) managed to make a successful attack with 50kms remaining in the race, staying away and marking an impressive solo win.  In the bunch sprint, Mikayla Harvey (Black Magic) took second ahead of Sharlotte Lucas (Benchmark Homes).  Amanda Jamieson now holds the overall series jersey, with Jeannie Kuhajek (Richmond Freshchoice Pomeroys) in the Master’s jersey and Michaela Kerr (Black Magic) in the U19 jersey.


Finally, in the masters’ race, Dave Rowland formed a breakaway with Carlos Lara on the final climb and managed to hold off the chasing pack to win by 30s.  Dave Rowland and Lee Johnstone both  retain their overall series leads in the 35-44 and 45-49  years category, while Blair Stuthridge moves into the lead in the 50+ categories.

Congratulations to all the riders jumping on the podium and the series leaders! 




Omega Technology Ltd  Scotty Brown                            

Copyright 2019 by Omega Technology Ltd | Terms Of Use | Privacy Statement